Central Africa

Central Africa is the core region of the African continent which includes Burundi, the Central African Republic, Chad, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, and Rwanda.

Middle Africa is an analogous term that includes:

  • Angola
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • The Republic of the Congo
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Gabon
  • São Tomé and Príncipe

All of the states in the UN sub region of Middle Africa, plus those otherwise commonly reckoned in Central Africa (11 states in total), constitute the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS). Since its independence in 2011, South Sudan has also been commonly included in the region.